TXAOO New Board and Agenda

Texas Association of Olive Oil (TXAOO) held its first board members meeting on November 11, 2020 via Google Meet. The business of the board included welcoming the newly elected board members, electing the officers and establishing an agenda.

The actions were taken by appropriate motions duly made, seconded and adopted by the majority vote of the Board Members entitled to vote.

The composition of the TXAOO board is as follows:

President – Cathy Bernell (unanimous)
Vice President – Michael Paz (unanimous)
Treasurer – Jill Jewett (unanimous)
Secretary – Mary Goerner (unanimous)
Board Member – Christine McCabe
Board Member – Randy Brazil
Board Member – Beth Boone

Stephen Janak was seated as a non-voting Ad Hoc Board member (unanimous)

TXAOO 2021 Agenda:

  • Determine and advance Go Texan mark definitions and guidelines in the Texas Olive Oil Industry
  • Continue the collaboration with Texas A&M on the 2018 Specialty Crop Grant; Developing strategies for mitigating the impacts of freezing and cotton-root-rot on olive production in Texas
  • Prepare and host a 2021 TXAOO event in coordination with TDA/Go Texan Marketing grant
  • Improve Membership and Sponsorship involvement including transparency and communication
  • Update and improve marketing strategies including TXAOO website and social media